International Ice Hockey Federation Launches Video Game Competition Series

On May 9th, In International Ice Hockey Federation (IIHF) introduced a new esports competition series based on the hit hockey video game EA SPORTS NHL 22. This event, dubbed the IIHF World Championship, was announced ahead of The IIHF World Championship which began on May 13th and runs through May 29th.

“With the launch of the IIHF eWorld Championship, we are aiming for this to be the start of a new program of eSport offerings in the future,“ said IIHF President Luc Tardif. 

Over the course of three phases, this event will crown the IIHF World Champion this July. The first stage will be a qualifier round in mid-June followed by a group stage in early July. The playoffs will take place in mid-July.

22 Nations will be competing in the event and its $5,000 first place prize:

  • Austria
  • Canada
  • Czech Republic
  • Denmark
  • Finland
  • France
  • Germany
  • Great Britain
  • Hungary
  • Italy
  • Japan
  • Kazakhstan
  • Korea
  • Latvia
  • Norway
  • Poland
  • Slovakia
  • Slovenia
  • Sweden
  • Switzerland
  • Ukraine
  • United States

Sign-ups for the tournament are open now! Click here.

(All information was provided by IIHF [1,2])

0 comments on “International Ice Hockey Federation Launches Video Game Competition Series

Leave a Reply

%d bloggers like this: