Call Of Duty League Reverting Back To Twelve Teams For 2022 Major Tournaments

The Call of Duty League announced that the upcoming 2022 season will now feature all 12 teams as opposed to the originally planned eight. The league revealed that four different franchises would host major tournaments throughout the year, but only eight teams could qualify for them, leaving the bottom four teams excluded from each event. If the hosting franchise of a Major doesn’t qualify for the event, they would play the eighth-seeded team in a play-in-style match for a chance to qualify.

It’s believed one reason for initially deciding on having eight teams at each major was due to viewership being low for ninth to 12th seed matches. Regardless of those numbers, the majority of franchise groups still wanted all 12 teams at each major from day one, but the league initially decided against it.

The first major tournament will be hosted by OpTic Texas, with the date yet to be announced. The other three hosts are rumored to be Minnesota RØKKR, Toronto Ultra, and New York Subliners—all three cities were mentioned in a deleted tweet by the Call of Duty League Twitter page. These locations are still tentative, though.

On top of the four major tournaments this season, the league will also host a preseason Kickoff Classic in January, a midseason Pro-Am tournament featuring top Challengers teams, and end the season with the 2022 “Playoffs and Champs,” which, according to sources, will still only have eight teams.

(All information was provided by Dot Esports)

0 comments on “Call Of Duty League Reverting Back To Twelve Teams For 2022 Major Tournaments

Leave a Reply

%d bloggers like this: